Tuesday, April 14, 2020

Marking its 50th anniversary, University of Nairobi’s school of law has joined the prestigious Global Campus of Human Rights.

The Global Campus of Human Rights is an EU-funded global network of universities based on cooperation between the European Inter-University Centre for Human Rights and Democratisation (EIUC) and seven regional programmes. With a composition of a hundred research intensive universities, it is the largest university network in the world specialized on human rights and democracy. EIUC’s staffs are renowned worldwide for their leading role in education, research and advocacy in human rights and democratization. 

Prof. Kiarie Mwaura, Dean, School of Law, says, “Acceding to the Global Campus of Human Rights, which is currently leading the United Nations Global Study on Children Deprived of Liberty, gives us a unique opportunity for cooperation in a myriad of areas, including: student and staff exchanges; teaching and curriculum development; online teaching collaborations; moot court competitions; professional development for staff; exchange of knowledge and information through reports, publications and training; resource sharing; collaborative research grants, projects, and conferences; joint supervisions and publications; and offering joint degree programmes.”


Prof. Mwaura adds that, “The global inter-university cooperation also gives us an opportunity to reflect on our humanity and appreciate that it is by sharing our interconnectedness and vulnerability that we shall discover our strength in the post COVID-19 world. As we go through this time of global health emergency, legal scholars and practitioners will be required to support the government’s big four plan for economic development as well as the UN Sustainable Development Goals, including affordable healthcare and access to essential medicines, food security, economic recovery and growth, decent work for all, housing, reduced inequalities and poverty, gender equality, access to water, access to justice, quality education and lifelong learning opportunities, and forging global partnerships with a view to turning this global crisis into an impetus for sustainable development.”

School of Law’s partners in the Global Campus of Human Rights includes: 

1. The European Inter-University Centre for Human Rights and Democratisation (EIUC). EIUC is the hub of the Global Campus network and managing institution of the European Master’s Programme in Human Rights and Democratisation (EMA) and it is based in Venice, Italy; 

2. The Universities of Sarajevo (Bosnia and Herzegovina) and Bologna (Italy) coordinating the European Regional Master`s Programme in Democracy and Human Rights in South East Europe (ERMA); 

3. The State University of Yerevan (Armenia) coordinating the Master’s Programme 

in Human Rights and Democratisation in the Caucasus (CES); 

4. The University of Mahidol (Bangkok, Thailand), coordinating the Master’s 

Programme in Human Rights and Democratisation in Asia Pacific (APMA); 

5. The University of San Martin (Buenos Aires, Argentina), coordinating the Master’s Programme in Human Rights and Democratisation in Latin American and the Caribbean (LATMA); 

6. The University of Saint Joseph (Beirut, Lebanon), coordinating the Arab Master’s 

Programme in Democracy and Human Rights (ARMA); 

7. The University of Pretoria (South Africa), coordinating the Master’s Programme 

in Human Rights and Democratisation in Africa (HRDA); 

8. Other partners in the network include: Queen’s University Belfast (UK); Nottingham University (UK); Maastricht University (the Netherlands); Utrecht University (the Netherlands); University of Padua (Italy); Ca’ Foscari University of Venice (Italy); National University of Ireland Galway (Ireland); National University of Ireland, University College Dublin (Ireland); University of Vienna (Austria); KU Leuven (Belgium); University of Cyprus (Cyprus); Åbo Akademi University (Finland); University of Helsinki (Finland); Université de Strasbourg (France); University of Hamburg (Germany); Université du Luxembourg (Luxembourg); University of Malta (Malta); Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (Greece); New University of Lisbon (Portugal); Lund University (Sweden); Uppsala University (Sweden); University of Southern Denmark/ Danish Institute for Human Rights (Denmark); University of Seville (Spain); Eotvos Lorand University Budapest (Hungary); University of Prishtina (Kosovo); University of Banja Luka (Bosnia and Herzegovina); Higher School of Economics, National Research University, Moscow (Russia); University of Sydney (Australia); Kathmandu School of Law (Nepal); University of Colombo (Sri Lanka); Organizacion Voces contra el Silencio (México); Universidade de Brasília (Brazil); Universidad del Pacífico (Peru); Universidad San Francisco de Quito (Ecuador); Universidad de la República (Uruguay); Universidad Mayor de San Andrés (Bolivia); International University of Rabat (Morocco); Cairo University (Egypt); University of Western Cape (South Africa); Makerere University (Uganda); University of Lagos (Nigeria); University of Ghana (Ghana); Université Catholique d’Afrique Centrale (Cameroon); University of Mauritius (Mauritius) etc.

For more details, visit https://gchumanrights.org/